Menu Close
Robert T. Matsui Community Service Award Honorees

Robert T. Matsui Community Service Award Honorees


The award is presented annually to an outstanding community member who exemplifies the essence of Dr. King’s dream.

In 2023, The MLK Committee Selected Two Honorees
2023 - Dr. Olivia Kasirye, Public Health Officer for Sacramento County

2023 - Dr. Robert S. Nelsen, President, Sacramento State

2022 - Mertie and James Shelby, Both have a long history as changemakers in the Sacramento region and beyond.  Mertie Shelby is a highly regarded teacher and administrator and has been inducted into the Education Hall of Fame. James led the Sacramento Urban League, and served as a council member and Mayor in the City of Citrus Heights.

2021 - Shonna McDaniels, Executive Director at SOJOURNER Truth Multicultural Art Center/Museum

2020 - Dr. Hazel Mahone, CEO of Vision 2000 and Veteran Educator

2019 - Vivek Ranadivé, Owner, Sacramento Kings and The Sacramento Kings

2018 - Susan Savage, Chief Executive Officer and Owner of the Sacramento River Cats

2017 - Scott Syphax, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of The Nehemiah Companies

2016 - Chet P. Hewitt, CEO and President, Sierra Health Foundation

2015 - Darrell Steinberg, Former Senate President Pro Tem, California State Senate

2014 - Vance W. Raye, Presiding Justice of the Third District Court of Appeal

2013 - Dr. Alan Rowe, Founder the United College Action Network

2012 - Grantland Johnson, Former Sacramento County Supervisor

2011 - Carlotta Walls LaNier, President, Little Rock Foundation

2011 - Bishop Emeritus Francis A. Quinn

2010 - Velma Stokley Flournoy, Founder of the Miss Black Sacramento Scholarship Pageant

2009 - Derrell and Tina Roberts, Co-Founders, Roberts Family Development Center

2008 - Honorable James Long, Superior Court of Sacramento County

2007 - C.C. Yin, President, Yin-McDonald’s

2006 - Allen Warren, President, New Faze Development

2005 - Fahiza Alim, Journalist (co-recipient)

2005 - Fran Barker, Community Activist (co-recipient)

2004 - Angelo Tsakapoulos, Chair, AKT Development Corporation

2003 - Dr. William Lee, Founder and Publisher of THE OBSERVER Newspapers

2002 - Fred Teichert, Executive Director, Teichert Foundation