Menu Close

Past Keynote Seakers

2023 - Sacramento Police Chief Kathy Lester and Pastor Anthony Sadler, Shiloh Baptist Church, participated in a roundtable discussion moderated by Kandace Redd, ABC10

2022 - Crystel Patterson, Author, "Inspired to be..." children’s book series

2021 - The year of the Pandemic and worldwide events, including the MLK Celebration, were conducted online via Zoom.  The MLK Committee invited a panel of three Sacramento leaders - Sacramento City Council Member Eric Guerra, Sacramento Urban League President Cassandra Jennings and Sacramento State President Robert S. Nelsen to participate in a discussion facilitated By Gulstan Dart, KCRA3 News Anchor.

2020 - Ruby Bridges,  First African-American child to desegregate the all-white William Frantz Elementary School in Louisiana in 1960 and Civil Rights Icon.

2019 - Kenneth B. Morris, Jr., Founder & President, Frederick Douglass Family Initiatives

2018 - Lee Mun Wah,  Internationally renowned Chinese American documentary filmmaker, author, poet, Asian folkteller, educator and master diversity trainer.

2017 - Rabbi Capers Funnye, Spiritual leader of Beth Shalom B’nai Zaken Ethiopian Hebrew Congregation, located in Chicago, IL

2016 - Judy and Dennis Shepard, CoFounders, Matthew Shepard Foundation

2015 - Kenneth B. Morris, Jr., Founder & President, Frederick Douglass Family Initiatives

2014 - Clayborne Carson, Professor of History, Stanford University Director, Martin Luther King, Jr., Research and Education Institute

2013 - Coach Ken Carter, San Francisco Bay-area high school basketball team from doormat to powerhouse and profiled in the movie "Coach Carter"

2012 - Coach Herman Boone, Legendary coach profiled in the movie classic "Remember the Titans"

2011 - Carlotta Walls LaNier, President, Little Rock Foundation

2010 - Chris Webber, Chris Webber, President of The Chris Webber Foundation, NBA All Star and Former Sacramento King – Realizing the Dream

2009 - Colonel Lee Archer, Jr., Tuskegee Airman, First African American “Flying Ace” – Dare to Dream-All Things Are Possible

2008 - Regina Louise, Author and Child Advocate – Human Rights: Equal Justice, Equal Opportunity, Equal Dignity

2007 - Morris Dees, co-founder of the Southern Poverty Law Center – Individuals Making a Difference

2006 - Judge Bobby DeLaughter, the Hinds County District Attorney who prosecuted white supremacist Byron De La Beckwith – Genuine Brotherhood & Peace

2005 - Kathleen Kennedy Townsend, 40th Annual Voting Rights Act

2004 - Thurgood Marshall, Jr. – Brown v Board of Education

2003 - Congressman John Lewis, The Second Emancipation

2002 - Congresswoman Barbara Lee, Keep the Dream Alive

2000 & 2001 - Congressman Robert T. Matsui